3Jennings PL
Norwalk, CT 06851
t. (203) 854.5492
f. (203) 854.8535

Row With Champions

Select Page

With 68 athletes competing, Maritime Junior rowers showed their muscle at the 2011 CT Indoor Rowing Championships, held on Saturday, February 5 at the St. Ann School in Bridgeport. Competing as Maritime Rowing Club, the team included athletes from New Canaan Crew and St. Luke’s Crew.

Competing in 11 categories overall, the team scored First in four of the events and placed in the top three for seven of the events.

The Junior B boys dominated their event, with Alex Buck’s winning time of 6:31.6, followed by David Kircher in second place, Tucker Kluety third, and Ross Burnman fourth. In the Junior B Boys lightweight category, Matthew Podlesak won the event with a time of 6:48.2 while Lester Mount IV came in fourth.

Fastest among the girls was Ellie Biddle, whose time of 7:37.9 placed her in 7th in the Junior A category. Among Junior A lightweight girls, Lily Gorman had the fastest MRC time of 7:57.7 which earned her 3rd place, while Katherine Squitieri’s time of 7.44.9 was the fastest MRC Junior B girls for 7th place. Bea Tobey’s time of 8:02.8 was the team’s fastest in the Junior B lightweight category and earned her fifth place.

Boys Junior A featured Jonathon Rosow, whose time of 6:20.7 was the team’s fastest overall and second overall for the event. In the Boys Junior A lightweight category, MRC placed first (Peter Tortora, 6:32.5), second (Palmer Foote, 6:38.8), and fourth (Parker Lange 6:40.4).

Coxswain Ashwini Rao was not left out of the challenge — competing for 1K, her time of 4:24.7 ranked 5th out of 12.

There were also 1K races for the 13 and under athletes, where again MRC shone. Lauren Bell came in first with a time of 3:52.4, with Claire Campbell in third and Kathryn DeSantis in 5th place. Griffin Daniels of MRC placed second in the Boys 13 and Under category with 3:29.2 followed by Victor Lu in second place and Justin Podlesak in fourth place.

For a complete list of competitors and results, visit Regatta Central.